

February 12, 2019

The Honorable Peter DeFazio Chairman House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure Committee 2165 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Rick Larsen Chairman Subcommittee on Aviation 2113 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Sam Graves
Ranking Member
House Committee on Transportation &
Infrastructure Committee
2164 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Garret Graves Ranking Member Subcommittee on Aviation 2402 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman DeFazio, Ranking Member Graves, Chairman Larsen, and Ranking Member Graves:

We write today to convey our strong support for the Aviation Funding Stability Act of 2019 (H.R. 1108) which would authorize the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to draw from the Airport and Airway Trust Fund (AATF) in the event of a government shutdown.

During the recent shutdown, air traffic controllers and other aviation safety professionals were forced to work without pay and thousands of others were furloughed. Jobs and economic growth in the industry were threatened as manufacturers, airlines and other operators, and small businesses faced disruption. The effect on the nation's air transportation system and the workers charged with keeping the system safe was dramatic. We find this situation to be unacceptable and we want to work with Congress and the Administration to prevent this from ever happening again.

The legislation is designed to provide a limited, targeted way of ensuring stability for the aviation system and it does not change congressional direction or oversight in any way.

H.R. 1108 allows FAA to carry out its mission by using the AATF, which presently has an uncommitted balance of over six billion dollars. Additionally, users of the system continued to pay taxes and fees during the shutdown to fund the aviation system, but the dollars could not be accessed to support controllers, safety specialists, and other critical FAA personnel absent a legislative fix. Passengers, shippers, FAA employees, operators, businesses, pilots, airline employees and others rely on our aviation system and support its operation through payments to the Trust Fund.

We look forward to working with the Committee, other members of Congress, and the Administration to pass H.R. 1108 and ensure that the FAA operates safely and efficiently for the flying public.

Sincerely,

Aeronautical Repair Station Association

Aerospace Maintenance Council

Air Line Pilots Association

Air Medical Operators Association

Air Traffic Control Association

Aircraft Electronics Association

Aircraft Mechanics Fraternal Association

Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Airlines for America

Airports Consultants Council

Airports Council International - North America

American Association of Airport Executives

Association of Flight Attendants - CWA

Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International

Aviation Accreditation Board International

Aviation Technician Education Council

Cargo Airline Association

Commercial Drone Alliance

Experimental Aircraft Association

General Aviation Manufacturers Association

Helicopter Association International

International Air Transport Association

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

International Brotherhood of Teamsters – Airline Division

International Council of Air Shows

National Air Carrier Association

National Air Traffic Controllers Association

National Air Transportation Association

National Association of State Aviation Officials

National Business Aviation Association

Professional Aviation Board of Certification

Professional Aviation Maintenance Association

Professional Aviation Safety Specialists

Recreational Aviation Foundation

Regional Air Cargo Carriers Association

Regional Airline Association

Transportation Trades Department – AFL-CIO

Transport Workers Union

Travelers United

U.S. Travel Association

CC: Speaker Nancy Pelosi

Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy

Majority Leader Steny Hoyer

Republican Whip Steve Scalise

House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Richard Neal and Ranking Member Kevin Brady

House Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Nita Lowey and Ranking Member Kay Granger

House Transportation Housing and Urban Development Appropriations Subcommittee

Chairman David Price and Ranking Member Mario Diaz-Balart